30-338 reloading help

jehan12413

First off I apologize I couldn't find the thread I originally referenced on this topic.
I had a gun built last year using rem 700 receiver and 26" shilen contour 7 barrel. On recommendation of gunsmith I went to 30-338 over 300 why mag which I have been reloading for over 20 years. I have spent the last 6 months trying to figure out the loads with no luck so any help would be appreciated. I'm using 190 gr SMK and h4831 powder. The many sources I checked recommend starting at 70-72 grains. Some posts here reference 70 gr vel 3023, hunting 72gr, and even Sierra reccomend 73.3 with 180 gr bullet. Also I see bench rest guys like 65 or 66 gr IMR 4350 with 190 gr bullet. I can't get close to those loads and my vel is real low. I started 67 gr H4831 vel was about 2650 and flattening primers, worked up to 73 but started getting hard extractions and some head separation vel about 2880. Backed down to 70. Don't want to try IMR 4350 until I figure this out. I tried fed 215 primers first then win and cci. Have shoulder just snug against throat and bullet on lands, then off 045", then .125" then .180". Using .125" now. Seemed to have no effect, even tried 168gr SMK with virtually no vel increase. What I'm looking for is vel of about 3000 with 190 gr SMK.
Thanks for any help