.25-06 Options and suggestions for pigs and dogs

Stix

Hi all, I'm new to these forums but i'm impressed with the level of knowledge and advice on these forums, it is a asset to hunters worldwide.

I have been hunting down here in Australia for the past 20 years, everything from feral cats and dogs, goat, pigs, deer and of course roos. Most of my hunting has been with an old Winchester Model 70 XTR Varminter in .243 which is on it's 3rd barrel. It's a great rifle and i'm more than capable of head shooting roos out to 200 metres and taking most game out to 300 metres if needed.

I have recently started hunting a few properties that have a problem with feral dogs causing damage to stock. My problem is it's real open country and shooting over 350 metres with my .243 and VXII 3-9 seems more like guess work.

I need a rifle and scope combo that i can take dogs at 500-550 metres with confidence.

I'm looking at a S2 Vanguard (Blues Synthetic) in .25-06 with a VXII 4-12X40 and shotting Winchester 110gn Accubond premium factory ammo.

Would this setup be capable of shooting dogs at 500 metres?

I would like to hear comments on this setup and hear any other suggestions? This rifle will also be used for Pigs, Chital and Fallow deer at normal ranges. I'm a bit worried about 12 power scope and long range expansion of the accubonds on dog sized game. I like to stick to one factory load and learn to shoot it rather than chop and change constantly.

Budget is an issue but i can wait a few more weeks and pay a few hundred more if needed.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Stix

Keep the .243 ! Nothing at all wrong with a 25-06...not by a long shot ( pun there..lol)

Toss that scope aside and get something newer and more powerful on the top end.....you might even try different reticles..??.