.243 win reloading issues.

northernexposure

Well Folks, be nice to me here, I'm still learning.
First, the info
~> Savage 111fc .243 win
~> Reloading with Hornaday 87gr V-Max....VihtaVuori N 560 powder @ 44gr's with cci #200 primer.

Problem is, I can't get any consistency with it. At 100 yds, I'm lucky to get a 4" pattern.
I'm using a bi-pod and bagging the rear... taking myself out of the equation.
Yet, the same rifle with a different load (55gr Ballistic Silvertip, 56gr's Hodgdon H380 and the same primers) is almost punching the same hole every shot... just 8" higher.
I have tried reducing the load and increasing it to compression with no real improvement in accuracy (87 gr v-max).
What am I doing wrong here??? Why are the 87gr's all over the place and yet, the 55 gr's are where I put them?
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Geez, that sounds awful!

Have you tried experimenting with your seating depth yet? full length size or neck size? sorting brass by number of times fired? even cleaning your brass can make a huge difference.

Sometimes it's as simple as changing the bullet itself. When I started loading for my .243 I had the almost same issue, my gun shot .5" groups with 55 grain Ballistic Tip factory ammo but when I started handloading 55 grain Ballistic Tips, my groups widened out to over 3 inches! I tried different seating lengths, different powders, neck sizing, etc. and nothing got me under 2.5". Finally I just tried some Berger 69 gr High BC Flat Base Match bullets... groups down to .3" at 100 yards. Now I shoot 70 grain Nosler Ballistic Tip Boattails simply because they perform better in the field.

Handloading is really all about experimenting. If you know your rifle can shoot well, then it usually just takes some trial-and-error until you find the right handload.