reloading issues

rwilliamson1

hello everyone i am new to long distance shooting and purchaced a savage 338 lapua. apon buying the 338 i started reloading the ammunition for it. my first 3 loads that i loaded shot really well and i had no issues. but for some reason now i have been having issues with the cases sticking in the gun after firing them. i have tried cleaning my gun and been very cautious with my loads making sure i have not exceeded the maximum powder charge and my trim and seat lengths are set to the data in my barnes reloading manual. im not sure what the issue is i have done everything i have been shown to do and i have not been able to figure it out. im not sure if i am doing something wrong or if something is wrong with my gun. i have noticed that some of my primers after shooting are alittle rougher and are alittle cratered from where the firing pin is stricking them. after i noticed this i went to a minimum powder charge and i am still seeing this issue. i have been using us 869 and imr 7828 powder and federal gm 215 large magnum rifle match primers. if anyone has an idea or has seen this same issue any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks for reading.

Are you using Hornady brass? A lot of people have been having problems with the savage and hornady brass. And most of the problems are what you are describing, Hornady brass sticking in the chamber.

i have used some hornady brass but its mainly in nosler brass that i have been seeing the issue but i have seen the issue in hornady brass as well. if it is just the brass what is a good brand of brass to use?

Did you give the chamber a good scrub out with solvent and bronze brush or a pad of steel wool. It may have dryed out transport grease in it .
Then you can have a look inside the chamber to see if it has any reamer marks . Soft brass gets caught up on reamer marks more .