Wyoming Elk Die off?

Timber!

I'm getting ready to apply for a non-resident elk tag in Wyoming, and was considering applying for antelope and deer also, and heading out the last week of October and first week of November.

I've read some articles about a bad die off last winter, particularly in regard to antelope and deer. Does anyone have any more up to date knowledge? I am familiar with the state geographically and have spent some time there, but it's my first time hunting there.

If the antelope and deer outlook are poor, I'll just draw elk. If there are certain regions to avoid, I'll draw a different one.

My overall goal is to draw elk in Wyoming this year and get a preference point for Montana combination for next year.

Thanks in advance, and any suggestions are welcome!

Have to ask the WyomingDepartmentof Transportation about the mortality rate from last winter.....as the animals couldn't get out of the road beds and over the snow berms.....
Finally got info that last years mortality of Idahos SE was really high too.....

It's way to early to apply for Deer and Antelope. Tentative quotas come out mid March.
I'm aware, thank you. If I get the elk tag then that's my plan, which seemed self evident from the explanation in my post. You're reply was very helpful, thank you so much for your insight into the current herd condition in the Rockies and the winter die off from last year. You really helped me to better plan my hunt this year.

Have to ask the WyomingDepartmentof Transportation about the mortality rate from last winter.....as the animals couldn't get out of the road beds and over the snow berms.....
Finally got info that last years mortality of Idahos SE was really high too.....
I'm going to call the wildlife dept on Monday too.

Elk numbers aren't really hurt with last year's winter, deer and antelope is bad. I know this is kinda too late for nr application deadline but I guessed I should reply anyway.