wind drift

pressman

I have a long rangeshooting game that is actually pretty darn fun. you have to dope your wind and use your scope to calculate the distance and also use drop charts. it also teaches you all the calculation for mildot ranging and dope setting.
but one thing they teach you is that if you have wind close to you NOT THE TARGET
the wind has greater effect on the bullet.
IS this correct cause i though i read some where that the wind closes to the target has the most effect because of the loss of speed. I know i have sure missed a few target on this game because i looked at the wind at the target not at my position.
Please give me some pointers because playing this game is one thing to keep you sharp with calculation but in real life i do not want to miss because i did not know.

Thanks guys

Not for sure about your question as I am just getting started in all this(rifle almost done). But I am curious about the game you mentioned. What is the name and where can I get it.

it is called long range shooting, A friend of mine got it for me since i drive him crazy when he is with me. i will ask him where he got it. i play it on the computer so maybe if you google it you might find it.
it really is a fun game and i even use exball with it and if i read the wind right exball is right on the money in the 6" square part of the target.

Try www.shooterready.com. Not sure what game the OP has but it sounds the same as this one.

Wind closest to you has the greatest effect. The reason is that if the wind at your muzzle blows your bullet left by 1 inch at one hundred yards it will be 10 inches off at 1000. If the wind at 1000 yards blows your bullet off 1 inch you'll still be off 1 inch at 1000. That is simplified and assumes no other wind which never happens but it explains the difference.