What to look for when choosing Optics

Cavemanactual

I'm new to long range shooting and looking for help on what Scope & range finder to go with. I'm shooting a 338 Lapua Mag. 1000 yards is what I'm setting as my benchmark but would like to ba able to push the limits later down the road. What are some key points to look at when selecting optics.

Any and all info would be helpful and appreciated.

Determine your budget first. Then decide what you want out of the scope. Will it just be for shooting steel/targets? Do you plan on hunting with it as well? For that distance you definitely need turrets on your scope which allow you to "dial" to your correct elevatoin. Different people will tell you different things as far as what is the most important features of a scope. I don't want cheap optics. I want to get the best glass I can possibly afford whether thats a scope, binos, or rangefinder. I save as much as I can and at times sell off other guns, bows, scopes, etc. that are collecting dust. Probably the number one thing that you will hear is reliability/durability when it comes to the most important feature of an optic. My thoughts are that the optics that I am interested in are at a price point where that shouldn't be an issue. With that said, I don't have a "Target" rifle. I hunt with all of my rifles and because of that, the number one thing I look for is good glass. I am always the last one out of a deer stand because big bucks like to come out at last light when most guys are getting out of their deer stands. I bought a Nightforce NXS 5.5-22x56 NPR2 with Zero Stop and High Speed Turrets and it was a great scope for shooting steel at long range but the glass was average at best for hunting in low light conditions. Even with the power turned down I was dissapointed. I have since sold the NF and bought a Steiner 5-25x56.

The NF scopes are excellent, and in your pricerange.