what bipod size, gear, etc etc etc

cowboy717

ok, i'm relatively new to long range hunting,,, long in being 500yds+, i have a custom 300 RUM built with a 32" stainless heavy barrel,,1-10", hs-precision stock. and have reciently put on a badger ordnance 20 MOA scope base and max 50 rings it is also topped with a Sightron long range 6-24x50.
wanting to know what else i need or can have to help out with hunting, also wantin to know what loads to start with, never really reloaded for super precision like this.
wanting to start with either 210 bergers or 240 smk's, maybe with either retumbo or h1000.
thanksgun)

did want to add that i have shot at around 400-500 yards with my 308 and have been reloading for a while. most of my guns have not had a factory shell shot thru them.
also what do you guys use to compute drop tables?? i have heard about nightforces pda and such??

Last edited:
I don't have any experience with the 300RUM or that particular scope, but from what I've read about them, you have a nice set-up. As far as what else gear wise, best is a relative term. What's best for me may not work out good for you. However, for my precision rifles which I use for hunting, varminting, and comps, I use the harris 9-13 swivel notched leg version with pod-lock. I like this version because I've found it able to give me that extra clearance over rocks or taller grass and angle shooting that the BR model does not. I also shoot a relatively high position, compared to many other shooters.