Western hunting and hunting in general Opinion/Rant/Knowledge

Caveman0101

I've been hunting for almost 40 years, that is to say, all my life I can remember. Started with dove, squirrel, rabbit with 410 and 22. Grew up in the south, hunted and lived out west for the past 27 years. Killed my first deer with a gun when I was 9, first bow kill at 12. Most animals I've taken have been on public land all western game have been DIY. Never really kept count of deer and elk, until the last 6 years when my boys came of age, we've killed 20 elk in that time. So I think probably personally something like 50+ kills with a bow (whitetail, muley, elk) 25 or so with a muzz, 100+ with a rifle. I say all this not to brag but to establish I might know a thing or two about hunting. Mostly these days on hunting trips I get friends and family into a position to kill an animal and I enjoy it as much as doing it for myself and then I bat cleanup late season.
Now to my point, I keep reading guys asking what cal., for a given distance for western hunting and that they would never shoot over 500 yards. I say to myself either this person has no clue what hunting out west is actually like or they are going on a canned hunt where shots can be passed up until you get just the right situation. That being said you should never take a shot you aren't absolutely confident in making cleanly. Know your personal limitation and your firearms capabilities.