Using dogs to get coyotes.

Great lookin pup, Big Sky. The cur family of dogs seem to be very intelligent and quick to learn things. Almost problem-solving smart. I trained my two dogs and it was a snap. Not that I was a great trainer, but that these dogs were just so intuitive. They caught on right away. After a couple of years together now, we communicate on several levels...hand gestures, head movements, sometimes they just read my thoughts. Yep.....you're gonna love this.

Azsugarbear, I do have a question for you. You said you pretty much take your dogs with you all the time. Does that include fall and winter? If yes, how do the coyotes react during that time of year? I know how they react in spring and summer, but I am curious about fall and winter. I am also really enjoying the companionship of a dog. I mostly hunt alone so a dog is nice to have around.

This thread reminds of ...

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YC16eFqiqEs"][FULL] Rottweiler Rescues Chihuahua From Coyote Attack | Coyote Attacks Chihuahua Dog (Video) - YouTube[/ame]

:D

Every scenario is a little different, but the single thread running through them all is the triggering of a territorial response - infringing on the coyote's turf so that he feels the need to respond. From late Summer through early Winter I start my calling based on food. Most coyotes are cautious and somewhat slow to respond. But seeing a dog changes things up. They become worried that the dog is also going after that distressed rabbit. They focus on clearing the dog out.

In late winter just before mating season, I lead with either a territorial challenge a group hunting howl. A new coyote moving onto their turf makes it difficult to attract a mate. Once they see the dog - it is really game on.