trying to decide on a Leica 1600B vs Leica 1000-R vs Vortex Ranger 1000

dmax1800

I know that rangefinders have been discussed a lot and I've researched the threads. I know the 1600B is the best of the 3, but also the most expensive. I'm trying to decide if its worth the $800 for the 1600B versus $600 for the 1000-R versus $379 for the ranger 1000. I'm new to long range hunting and I think that 500 yards is going to be my max range, for now. For now most shots will not be on very mountainous conditions, but that could change in the future. But I don't want to be cents foolish and buy a rangefinder that I will want to replace in a couple of years as my ability with my rifle increases.
Can you help me decide???

Last edited:
You probably don't want to hear this but I currently own a 1600B. It ranges plenty well and yep its 800 bucks. Given a chance to do over I would have saved a while longer and purchased the G7 at 1600 bucks. I'm now saving for the G7 and will use 1600B until then. The 1600B has like 12 ballistic curves none of which fit the load I'm now using well enough to use. With the G7 you can load your rifles ballistic info right into it. That is pretty good Ju-Ju!!

Of what you mention the 1600B hands down.

I've owned them all. Just sold my 1600 about an hour ago for $500. Sold my 1600B a few weeks ago. Both great devices. But, the G7 BR2 is the bomb! Had mine for a month now. I've made first round hits to 1235 yds so far.

Alan

What about a
Zeiss Victory T PRF Laser Rangefinder?

MidwayUSA has them for $649. Is it worth considering, or should I just break the bank and get the Leica 1600B???

Like I said in my original post, I'm going to be shooting only out to 500 yards for now. Probably not going to shoot 1000 yards. I've got a Zeiss rapid z 800 scope that has a ballistic reticle, so I don't need a ballistic program in the rangefinder.

What about a
Zeiss Victory T PRF Laser Rangefinder?