Trigger pull then late fire

Tvaughan

I've been reloading for about 4 months and I have over 1000 rounds of .223 under my belt so I stepped up up .338 lapua. I'm not sure what's wrong but when I squeeze off occasionally I'll hear a click then the power ignites. I've had 2 occasions where the powder didn't ignite at all. Not sure if it's primer choice or primer/powder combination. Flash holes were clear, I have a habit of pushing through holes with deburing tool after tumbling.
Using reloader 19 82 grains 225 grain Hornsby with Winchester wlrm primers.
Anyone know my problem? Thanks

I would try a different lot of primers. Could be a bad batch.
Was it really cold when you was shooting?

if that is not the problem get some spray break cleaner and thoroughly soak your trigger mec them add just a drop of fine oil (3in1, sewing machine oil or the like) I use 3in1 works fine for me. At the same time if you do not have a sonic cleaner soak your bolt in diesel fuel over night, you will be amaized at how much gunk will come out. After the soaking in diesel hang to drip dry, no lube needed after that.

One gunsmith says to use lighter fluid to clean the trigger group. It cleans it well and like the diesel on the bolt, leaves enough oil for smooth action without attracting dust.

FWIW,

Yeah but the gun only has 100 rounds through it, not very worn, I'm sure I'm screwing up somewhere in the reloading process I just don't know where

if that is not the problem get some spray break cleaner and thoroughly soak your trigger mec them add just a drop of fine oil (3in1, sewing machine oil or the like) I use 3in1 works fine for me. At the same time if you do not have a sonic cleaner soak your bolt in diesel fuel over night, you will be amaized at how much gunk will come out. After the soaking in diesel hang to drip dry, no lube needed after that.

i'd suggest you do not do that with the trigger .....