Too much gun?

wilkup

What do you consider too much gun?
Growing up, my uncle always talked about guys hunting with too much gun. He's old school. Both rifles he owns for big game hunting were hand picked by Jack O'Connor for him as a boy and then a young man. He sees the rounds I choose to hunt with and gives me a hard time time for taking my "elephant rifles" deer hunting. As a houndsman, when it was legal here, he carried a 22lr revolver. His first big game rifle he purchased was a 257 Roberts and he killed everything up to bull elk in the Blues with it! In his late teens he purchased his "big" gun, a 270 Winchester. That's the largest caliber he owns and has hunted and killed everything in the lower 48 with it.
So how many of you old school, or new school guys are of this mindset? Just curious if other people still think this way. I'm not a proponent of big magnums by any means. I like my SS rounds, but that's as big as I typically go.