Target scopes...How do I???

fowlguy

Alright, I am new to this long range shooting thing but I want to get involved. First off I shoot a 30-06 and I would like to use it for at least one more year for deer/elk before upgrading.
I am going to get a Leica finder, Leupold Gold Ring spotter and am going to be putting on a new scope...Here's where I am lost, I would like to be able to dial in the range on my scope...But how does this work?
Say I have a 30-06 and my buddy has a 7mm Ultra MAg we both buy Leupold Mark 4 tactical scopes with target knows/adj whatever there tech. term is...
Now the scope is going to move the same amount for each adjustment even though we are shooting different claibers...can someone line me out on getting the the right scope and how I dial it in??
Thanks Lost in the long range world

Fowlguy

"Now the scope is going to move the same amount for each adjustment even though we are shooting different claibers...can someone line me out on getting the the right scope and how I dial it in??"

The scope adjustments (turrets) will correct for trajectory... for example; Your 30-06 might need 11 MOA of UP adjustment over a 100 yard zero to get to a 500 yard zero while the 7mm UltraMag may only need 7 MOA to do the same thing. What you need to know is YOUR trajectory and don't worry about his... you zero at 100 yards and if the elk is 500 yards away you adjust your turret to 11MOA and you're dead-on at 500 yards. The scope (turret adjustment) is just a calibrated measurement device that you adjust the correct amount for the trajectory of the rifle you're shooting.

IF you get a calibrated reticle type scope, the one with the circles or lines for aiming points, you will then possibly need to get a different scope than your buddy with the 7mm Ultra Mag.

The better IMHO way is to get a scope with turrets and adjust the turrets for the elevation...you can then swap the scope to any rifle and establish new come-up data after the swap.