Talk to me about the 260 AI

Creedmoor shooter

Im getting ready to order the barrel for my first build. Its going on a savage short action. Ive been dead set on the Creed until the 260 AI caught my eye. Im just looking for some load data with some velocities and a rough estimate on barrel life. Also, would it cause me OAL or feeding issues in a short action? Thanks in advance!

The 260 Remington was designed as a short-action cartridge. It's pretty much just a necked down 308 Winchester.

Heavier, longer bullets might require you to seat them deeper than you really want to, taking up some of the space that could otherwise be filled with powder. The AI version is going to be the same in that regard, as far as I can see. Even the non-AI version should be slightly faster than the Creedmoor with the same bullet (according to the Nosler Reloading Guide #8).

I'm a newbie at this stuff, but when I decided I wanted a 6.5mm-something, I looked real hard at both the 260 Rem and 6.5 Creed.
Currently putting together a 6.5 Sherman Shortmag.

How long is the mag on the savage SA? I would not build a 260AI on something I could not load to 2.900. The 260AI has more velocity than the 6.5 creedmore on average but the creedmore is great in a short action.

Good luck and shoot straight

Bob

How long is the mag on the savage SA? I would not build a 260AI on something I could not load to 2.900. The 260AI has more velocity than the 6.5 creedmore on average but the creedmore is great in a short action.

Good luck and shoot straight

Bob

Im not sure ill have to measure it. My brother has a Savage in he 6.5 creed and he loads it out to the lands with plenty of room left.

I believe a Savage short action can feed a 2.9" cartridge. Either way both are good cartridges, if you are setup for the Creed, go with that and don't look back. :Dgun)

I built a 260AI on a Rem short action..I was planning on the Creed,but my smith talked me into the 260 AI..

I am glad he did..