Sig 300WM brass send it back or shoot it?

entoptics

I bought 150 Sig brass from Cabelas, and with free shipping and Club points it was $55...

Problem is, unlike almost all the reviews I saw before buying, the stuff I got appears to be pretty crappy.

1) The necks are beat to hell. Not a huge concern, as I'll obviously size and prep before loading, but I've never gotten brass that's this trashed from any other brand/caliber before.
IMG_4006.jpg

2) The weight spread is ENORMOUS. I got three bags of fifty, all from same lot #, and all three had over 7 grains of weight spread (that's roughly a grain of powder volume by my calcs). That's a 3% variance. Worse, after weighing them all and combining, the spread is fairly broadly distributed, so breaking them up into equal weight aliquots will be tough. For reference, I've been using MAI (Norma made) brass for a couple years, and it has an extreme spread of 3 grains, from 245 brass I weighed (I was bored).

Sig Histogram.jpg

MAI Histogram.jpg

3) I've developed loads using the aforementioned MAI which averages 216 gr. The Sig is averaging 254 grains. That's a whopping 40 gr of brass, which is roughly 5 gr of powder! Worried I'll never get the speeds I want from the Sig brass, or at best it will require starting from scratch with development.

4) The neck thickness varies by up to 0.002". Take that with a little grain of salt, as they're so beat up the measurements could be suspect. Don't wanna size any till I decide if I'm gonna return them. I neck turn usually, so that's not a deal breaker, and they do tend to be >0.0135", so there's room to shave some without ending up too thin.

At the price I paid, I could throw out half of them and it would still be cheap, but I'm sorta past worrying about cheap. I just want stuff to work. I bought the Sig stuff cause there were so many good reviews, it was in stock at Cabelas, and I had points to spend. Unfortunately, it appears Sig's legendary QC :rolleyes: has struck again...