Setting a shoulder back

sandbar782

I have been reloading for a few years and am working toward building a more precise load while getting extended life from my brass. I have see it written that the shoulder should be set back .002 during FL sizing. Without purchasing extra tooling, how is this achieved? I have many fired cases from my chamber to work with.

A shoulder bump die is really all you need.

http://www.forsterproducts.com/store.asp?pid=27654

IMO, somewhere between .001 and .002 is sufficient shoulder set back for a bolt action rifle. Too much set back shortens case life, adversely affects accuracy and may be dangerous. But we have to keep in mind that the more the brass if used the stiffer it becomes (work hardened) and, progressively, it suffers from "spring back" so the set back can be lost. That's why I anneal the brass.

I don't even worry about shoulder set-back... I just neck-size all mine till they get tight when chambering, then I FL size them, then repeat the process again.

Hornady makes a caliper attachment that can measure the base to datum length. Measure the fired brass, then run your full length die down in small increments until you see a shoulder set back of .002 or however far you think you may need. Then, I mark the die and the press with a marker to get an index for next time. It is pretty close but make sure to make fine adjustments as needed. I think the Forester shoulder bump die works the same. If you are running a belted magnum, a FL die is a god idea due to the area above the belt needing a little squeeze.