Scope Mount vs Rings

James K.

I have very little experience with mounting optics, i have a fat wrench & some torque bits....& youtube, lol.
What is the best route to mount a Leupold VH-6 3-18X44 scope to my newly acquired Bergara Ridgeback Premier Pro 300 Win Mag...….
I like the idea of the 1 piece mounts, I recently mounted a Burris PEPR on my AR 15, (first time mounting any optic) but will a 100.00 mount
like that be able to take the recoil & rigors for this dedicated Elk Rifle?
I stumbled onto the Spuhr mounts & while they are built like a tank the $400.00 is pretty steep.
I like the idea of the Nightforce Direct Mount but the center rail is not quite as robust....any thoughts that one??……
Or should i stick with something more traditional like a picatinny rail & Back Country Rings from Leupold or maybe the Burris XTR Signature Rings?
The XTR rings look very nice but i am concerned that it would be too easy to get the wrong cant with the inner ring inserts...
Any comments / suggestions are appreciated.

Attachments

• Bergara.Ridgeback.Premier.Pro..jpg
    Bergara.Ridgeback.Premier.Pro..jpg
    140.9 KB · Views: 365
  • LEUPOLD.VH.6HD.jpg
    LEUPOLD.VH.6HD.jpg
    128.2 KB · Views: 281
  • Nikon.223.jpg
    Nikon.223.jpg
    128.9 KB · Views: 480
I am a diehard believer in picatinny rail and top grade rings. However, there is something to be said for one piece mounts and that it reduces the number of connection points. Theoretically, making the mounting system less prone to becoming lose...maybe. And, increasing the rigidity of the mount.

P.S. I do run a DNZ one piece mount on a couple of guns, one rifle and one slug gun and have had no issues.

My two cents - 1) I bought the Leupold Back Country rings, however, they had terrible alignment and would have taken a lot of lapping. I ended up doing a rail and Warne rings (not expensive at all and alignment was perfect)