Scope? Bullet?

keg333

Recently purchased a Remington 700 SPS Stainless .300 RUM with 26" barrel. Changed the stock already to a laminate thumbhole. I have never tried to shoot more then 200 yards so I am very new to long range shooting. I shoot a really good group at 100-200 and really would like to learn to shoot to about 500-600 and maybe even further if possible. I will be hunting deer with this gun. I know it takes a lot of practice but I was wondering what would be the best optics, rings, and bullet for this gun? I am interested in the scopes with turrets because it seems to take the guess work out. Not big on the mildot scopes I usually like my crosshairs fine. I would like to spend around $1000 or less for the scope but will considering spending a little more. This is a hunting rifle so I would like something that is very good in low light as well. Thanks for your opinions in advance!

Last edited:
If you don't like the mil-dot scopes, then look for the target dot scopes. That is what I use and it works very nice. Start with looking into Sightron SIII series scopes. Look at their 8-32 target scope. Nice turrets and glass. The 10-50 is nice, but have heard there was some issues with the elevation turret on that particular model. The 8-32 is just as nice. I have looked through both at 1000yds in Williamsport range. It was over cast, and foggy and I had no problem seeing the target at the top end. Another is the Night Force target scopes and Leupold. Weaver makes a good target scope. Vortex has some scopes with target dots. I have a 6.5-20x44 in a target dot. I really like the scope and the turrets. If you can handle a ballistic reticule then you should seriously consider the Vortex Viper PST.

As far as bullets, if you aren't going to use a break, I wouldn't go heavier than 180-190 grain bullet. If you are going to install a break then look into the 210 Berger, JLK, and Sierra or the Hornady 208 A-max or 225BTHP.

Tank