Looking for the right scope and bullet for a 7mm rem mag

DSMITH1651

hi guys, i am new to med. and long range shooting and up to last fall my deer hunting has been in the north woods of mn and the shots are with in a 100 yds. last nov. we decided to try deer hunting central SD and loved it i have a new savage 16 fcss weather warrior in 7mm rem mag love the rifle and i am good out to 500 yds with it. I would like a new scope with variable power 4-14 or so and zero stop and the other bells and whistles like the nightforce but i don't want it so big for hunting in the brush in mn i found a lepold that seems too fit the bill but i have been reading that there is better options out there.

Also i need a bullet that can handle 50 yds as well as 600 yds maybe more the hornady sst i was shooting in SD last year grenaded on two deer at 100 yds. i don't think they will hold up busting brush in northern mn.

i would like this to be a set up that could work in both places but maybe i deed two different loads and guns
thanks
Duane

What type of budget are you looking at for the scope? As far as bullets, I would look into the Berger 180 VLDs, the Accubond 160's, or the new Long Range Accubond 168's or 175's.

Welcome you are on the right forum to find your answers. Just continue to keep reading and reading and you will learn what is best.

FROM EXPERIENCE YOU NEED TO INVEST ALOT OF TIME IN YOUR PURSUIT. All the technology will only help you drain your saving unless you Practice shooting at least once a week.

In my opinion you need two guns. One for up close maximum range 100-150 YARDS AND ANOTHER SETUP FOR LONG RANGE SHOTS. THAT IS WHAT I DO AND IT WORKS FOR ME. A BRUSH GUN FOR WHEN THAT 10 PT WHITETAIL( GETS UP AT 20 YDS )AND AN ACCURATE TACK DRIVER FOR LONG RANGE SHOTS.

CONSIDER THE BERGER VLD HUNTING BULLET WHEN YOU CAN FIND THEM AND IF YOUR GUN LIKES THEM. WHICH BRINGS UP LOADING ANOTHER MONTH OF CONVERSATION AND LEARNING.