Scope Adjustment Problem - Need Help

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Csafisher, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. Csafisher

    Csafisher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    OK i got a nikon monarch 4-16x42 for my ruger 10/22. I do not have enough elevation adjustment to zero it at 50 yards. With the elevation all the way up the point of impact is about 2 inches low. What should I do? 20 moa base??
     
  2. 6.5x284tony

    6.5x284tony Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    787
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    That, or go with some signature rings through Burris, I have had great luck with these, you can get the offset inserts to get the adjustment you are looking for.

    Tony.
     
  3. dig

    dig Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    693
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    something else is amiss here. I would triple check the mounting, bases, rings etc. . .
     
  4. Steyr Luxus

    Steyr Luxus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    119
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    lightbulbI would check your scope adjustmenst by physicaly running both the elevation and wingdage adjustments full up / full down; windage full left / full right by counting the number of clicks it takes stop to stop. Having done that you simply count out half for both elevation and windage and set them to to this value. What you have now just done is set the sighting device to neutral.
    Now begin your sighting in procedure.
     
  5. WildRose

    WildRose Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    9,567
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Yep, something isn't mounted correctly.
     
  6. bman73

    bman73 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    I would definately check your mounting of the scope, I put a Tasko with mid quality Leupold rings on my Rem 597 with no other mods and shoot it to 230 yrds with no problems in the elevation adjustment. After a day at the range I then re zero it to 50 yrds for grouse and rabbit hunting with no problems at all. I agree with some of the above posters that something is wrong here.
     
  7. Csafisher

    Csafisher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Well I had a leupold on it and it worked fine. Didn't mess with the base or anything, just took the top of the rings off and put the new scope on. Everything is tight. So i don't know what the problem is
     
  8. WildRose

    WildRose Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    9,567
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    If that's the case then something is wrong with the scope.
     
  9. bman73

    bman73 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Any possibility of having got anything under the scope on the swap that would be holding the front of it up higher than it should be? If not then I would think there is something wrong with the scope.