Returning to zero, help.

PAMONTY

This is my first time using the bulletin board and I have many questions so I dicided to start out simple.
I have a Nightforce 8-32x56 on top of a 6.5x284. My question is after making a shot and returning to zero do you go past the zero setting on your turret and then back up or what?

PAMONTY

Some folks are firm believers in that method...always take the slack out and come to rest in the same direction...seems a sound approach.

(Real life, in the field, I just return to the zero setting and call it good enough... I don't shoot on the zero setting as I generally walk around on the 200 yard setting so I guess I'm actually performing the procedure any way you look at it!)

The impostant part is that you remember to reset the scope after your shot.

I have been long range hunting ground hogs here in Pa. for about 4 years now. I first got started after reading a long range hunting article Written by Dan Lilja, I've been hooked ever since. For about the first year and a half I read every article I could get my hands on, studied ballistic charts and talked to however wanted to talk about the subject. In the second year I decided to build a rifle for this kind of hunting. Again I talked to-- what I would call experts in the feild. We put together A 6.5x284 Tight neck .290
Hart heavy barrel, 9 twist.
Custom BAT action.
Shehane tracker stock.
Jewell 2oz trigger.

I have made many fine killes with this rig. It has taken My shots out to as far as 753 yards. The average shot would be between 300 to 500 yards.
I use the Tioga program to calulate drop charts. I'm not sure I'm using some of the right numbers though. There are times when we peg the yardage right on the money, make the scope corrections and still miss way off. The spotter will start adjusting me untill we got the hog or he get tired of waiting. We will find after checking the chart, maybe the yardage was 660 yds and the corrections in the scope show only 540 yds.