Remington 700 throat to long

MOOSE39465

Am I the only one experiencing a extremely long throat on a 6.5 Creedmoor? I can put a 143 eld-x bullet into the chamber point the muzzle downwards then chamber a case that has been size and the bullet never touches case. Rifle is a 6.5 Creedmoor Remington 700 SPS with 24 inch barrel. This can't be right?

Had the same problem with an SPS .308. I could seat an SMKT just into the case & not come close to touching the lands. Put 1000 rounds through it & the throat was so eroded I had to change it out.

BW

I have been buying Remington rifles for 25 years. This will be the last one I ever buy. To many other good rifles out there now to put up with this.

Verbatim from my buddy:

"Remington makes sure you will never touch the lands."

He's a trained gunsmith and loves building long range rifles in his free time, but he's pretty fed up working for Remington.

Lol

Am I the only one experiencing a extremely long throat on a 6.5 Creedmoor? I can put a 143 eld-x bullet into the chamber point the muzzle downwards then chamber a case that has been size and the bullet never touches case. Rifle is a 6.5 Creedmoor Remington 700 SPS with 24 inch barrel. This can't be right?
I'm guessing this is on a short action.
Saami reamers are .199 freebore so unless you put in a wyatts 3" box you'll never get there. I dont know how the143 stacks up against the Berger 140 VLD but you have to be about 2.93 to get to the lands with a 140.
Blame Hornandy for all that freebore not Remington I'm betting they using saami reamers.

I'm guessing this is on a short action.
Saami reamers are .199 freebore so unless you put in a wyatts 3" box you'll never get there. I dont know how the143 stacks up against the Berger 140 VLD but you have to be about 2.93 to get to the lands with a 140.
Blame Hornandy for all that freebore not Remington I'm betting they using saami reamers.