Remington 700 SPS Varmint. Expecting too much?

ngodwetrust21

I am new to long range shooting and reloading. I am seeking the advice of the community who got me started in my long range rifle projoct. I have a remington 700 chambered in 308. The upgrades I have made include: a jewel trigger set to 2lbs and a bell and carleson medalist light tactical rifle with aluminum bedding and a free floating barrel. The barrel of the rifle is a stock 26 inch remington as well as the action. I am shooting a SMK 175 gr seated .015 off the lands with COAL of 2.90 and 4.1 gr of varget powder.

My questions.

1. The rifle is shooting 1 to .25 inch groops at 200 yards. Are there any other upgrades I can do to my rifle to make it more accurate or am I expecting too much with what I am working with?

2. Can I use the SMK 175 gr to hunt deer?

3. What upgrades can I make to this rifle that will improve my accuracy aside from purchasing a new barrel, action, or bolt?

Thanks,

Andy

Andy:

1. You are getting outstanding accuracy from your rifle. I think you would have a hard time getting it to shoot any better. One thing you might consider is lowering the weight on your trigger. The jewel triggers I have are set at 1.25lbs - that encourage real trigger control.

2. Although some will tell you that hunting with the SMK is ok, I generally disagree. There are too many good hunting bullets available in 308 to choose one that is not designed for hunting. Look at the 185/190 Berger VLD, 208Amax

3. Since you have upgraded your trigger and stock, the only remaining thing to do is to have the action bedded into the stock. Given the accuracy you are currently getting though, it might not be worth doing as a bedding job will cost you ~$100

I have been down the road you are on. You can read about it here:

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f53/my-308-1k-rifle-evolution-continues-43510/