Recommendation on cleaning brass

giannid

So I've been reloading now for a few years and mostly self taught myself from reading books and the forums. My question is about cleaning brass. When I started, all the research I did was telling me to use stainless media and a tumbler. So I purchased a cheap rock tumbler from Harbor freight which I made a new container for with pvc pipe. It works pretty well and has served me well. It limits me to about 100 .308 cases and about 175 .223 cases. My usually way of reloading is I prep the brass first. Meaning I size and trim it then put it in the media. For most of my used military brass, I use imperial sizing wax, as I found it the best for the brass that is tough to size. The easier stuff, out of my bolt actions, Like 338 lapua or 6.5 creedmore, I've been using the Hornady one shot. I usually only neck size this brass, as it starts out new and has only been fired out of my gun. A problem I'm experiencing is the wax doesn't seem like it comes completely off of the brass with the stainless media, water, dish soap solution. Another problem I'm seeing as some of my brass is so dirty from the range, I need to clean it before I do any case prep as it's really dirty from the range/mud. So I'm asking you guys what is your method? I was thinking of cleaning all the brass first with the stainless media, doing my case prep, and then cleaning it again with an old style tumbler with a dry media like walnut. Seems like a lot of work as I'd have to decap first so I can get the primer pockets clean and that adds a few other steps to the reloading process. Recomendations please.

g, the only item you've mentioned of concern is the pvc pipe. It's round inside, most wet tumblers are hexagonal or square inside which turn over the media/cases giving more cleaning action. I have a Frankfort Arsenal wet tumbler and the cases come out very clean, no Imperial wax at all on them.