Rear bag with or without ears

Tyler Holderby

Looking at rear bag options..currently I use a sock filled with popcorn seeds, but I'm curious about a bag with ears? Which do most prefer, which will be most stable and accurate? I feel with my current setup the rifle may become torqued when I squeeze the bag, a bag with ears I could just slide up or down the stock for the preferred height..weight of the bag isn't an issue for me..looking for the most accurate prone hunting setup! Thanks in advance

I too prefer ears. If weight is really no issue, I have and would recommend a Protektor Model with the double-thick bottom leather. It is an incredibly solid bag. But heavy

For me, it is too heavy for any type of field use (even backyard crows and chucks). For that I have a basic Caldwell rear bag (still has ears) filled with rice. Way lighter, not as solid, but definitely adequate for field use.

I have no experience with a bag with ears, so do you guys just move the bag along the stock for the desired height? I would guess so but unsure of proper technique?? Thanks!

In general, that's what I do. Typically I'll set my front rest to a height where I can have my rear bag most of the way rearward. Ultimately you will develop a technique that is most comfortable and accurate for you. Some guys squeeze the ears for slight elevation, some turn the bag slightly for a firmer platform, etc.

for hunting I generally use my pack. This reduces the amount of things I have to take with. If I am out shooting I use a bag with ears