Re 17

PaLuke

Hi everyone and happy New Year. I picked up a 300 WSM A-Bolt with a 26" barrel and ran maybe 10 shots through it and cleaned it with Butches Bore shine. I used Re 17 for the loads and couldn't believe the amount of crud that came out of that gun. After the initial 10 shots I shot 5 more, cleaned it and filth again. I've been reloading for some 20 years and never saw so much powder residue in a barrel. I was close with 10X a few years ago but this is amazing. Has anyone else found this with Re 17? Thanks for the replies PaLuke

Absolutely not. I have shot 100's of loads through my 30-06, 375 Ruger, 280AI and 6.5 rem mag with up to ~50 shots without cleaning. Was thinking that it was a CLEAN burning powder by comparison so your post is a surprise to me.

You may have a rough bore and if you do it will not matter which powder you use, you will collect a lot of powder and copper residue.

This is how rumors get started.

Thanks for the reply, The last thing I want to do is start a rumor about a product that I'm sure many people use. I was just asking about what I'm experiencing. It's a new rifle and very well may have a rough bore. I'm going to try it this weekend with H4350 and Re 17 again. It shot very well for 3 or 4 shots then went downhill from there. Again starting a rumor was not my intention. thanks again for the reply. PaLuke

I actually found it to be fairly clean burning.

But it did appear to be more temperature sensative than I wanted.

Used it for 25-06 and 30-06 loads.....

You just figured out why we pay for hand-lapped bores ! Factory barrels are ROUGH. Tubbs final finish might help if you subscribe to the theory. Good luck. I love batches bore shine !