RCBS Chargemaster accuracy test

RDM416

I have been using the Chargemaster for several years and have been (still am) happy with it. However I have questioned if the standard digital reloading scale resolution of 0.1 grains is accurate enough for truly precision loads. I finally bought a Sartorius M-Prove model lab type scale. (replaces the Acculab scale in the Sinclair catalog..... I think Acculab is no longer around, at least Sinclair and other distributors no longer carry it) The Sartorius has a resolution of .02 grains. I decided to do a quick test to compare the two.

The Test: Both scales are set up side by side on a solid bench further isolated with a 100 lb granit slab isolated from the bench by 1" of high density foam rubber, the scales each have 1/4" of foam between each "foot" and the granit slab. A conditioned and isolatated power source is used for each. Each scale is leveled and calibrated.

I chose two different powders, H50-BMG which is a very coarse powder and US869 which is a very fine ball type powder. I chose these to represent the opposite ends of the spectrum of powder types. A charge weight of 100.0 grains was chosen with 10 samples of each powder type.

H50-BMG

RCBS Chargemaster Sartorius M-Prove
1. 100.0---------------- 99.90
2. 100.0---------------- 100.18
3. 100.0---------------- 99.98
4. 100.0---------------- 100.08
5. 100.0---------------- 100.04
6. 100.0---------------- 100.04
7. 100.0---------------- 100.28
8. 100.0---------------- 99.98
9. 100.0---------------- 100.18
10. 100.0--------------- 99.98

Average charge 100.06 gr.
ES (largest spread between any two charges) .38 gr.
40% of charges are equal to or more than .1 gr. from desired weight.

US869

1. 100.0-------------------- 100.14
2. 100.0-------------------- 100.12
3. 100.0-------------------- 100.02
4. 100.0-------------------- 100.06
5. 100.0-------------------- 100.04
6. 100.0-------------------- 100.10
7. 100.0-------------------- 100.06
8. 100.0-------------------- 99.96