Practical practice

adk hunter

As we head into preseason I was wondering how everyone practices for in the field or actual hunting scenarios? I can shoot at a range for distance once in awhile but day to day on the farm it is limited range. I "sneak" through the woods and shoot at my plate at varing distances but it is fairly close terrain. Going to set up a spot I can flop and shoot over my pack but again that seems ''canned".

I've been so focused on reloading and finding a load I don't want to lose focus on delivery. I'm great with using a tree for aid so hoping for some trees or boulders to steady against in '23. Thank you for any insights offered!

I started shooting 22 prs/nrl type field matches this past 2 seasons. It's taught me how to control my breathing in a higher stress situation then regular range use due to the heat of a competition and pressure from the timer. It's help me Learn to build a stable shooting position in a less then idea situation, learn to shoot off hand and left hand in weird positions, taught me how to hit a mover which is obviously good practice.

I'll second the nrl22 type shooting. You can find the stages on their website, it's great practice and much cheaper than full blown rifle shooting.
You can use the various positions, shooting off folding chairs, tires, buckets, step ladders. It's great odd position shooting, I keep a "know your limits" target set up and every chance I get to play will shoot it at different ranges. Putting a timer on yourself and keeping score will elevate the heart rate a bit and keep it fun.

Try a brisk walk for a hundred yards and back with your pack and rifle and immediately lean against a tree or shooting stick , or drop to a knee, or lay on a pack and fire at the target. Create as many different scenarios for shooting under stress as possible to be prepared for that surprise shot.