Planning first elk hunt need help

D

Deleted member 48126

Hunted exclusive on the east coast, and some in Texas and Missouri. I have about 22 years experience hunting deer, hogs, turkeys, and all types of small game/ varmints.

My Army buddy is graduating Columbia in December 2020. He wants to do a once in a lifetime hunt. He has a lot of firearms experience and some hunting experience. He has hunted with me a lot but has never shot anything.

We are both in excellent shape so we want the best, toughest type elk hunt, like pack the meat out, camp, etc. I have several elk capable rifles. Two .308 wins, one .30-06, and a .338 Lapua. Going to be honest, want to keep the shots within 300 yards. That's what we are comfortable with. We have a lot of gear from hiking, army, competing in PRS type comps.

So that's our background. Question is literally, what do we do?! Lol

What state, How do we get licenses, any recommended outfitters, costs, gear, we have a year and half, is that enough time? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Also we aren't after monster bulls, that would be nice, but if we both got a cow that would be perfect. Any and all advice, recommendations, referrals would be greatly appreciated.

- Bill

Hunted exclusive on the east coast, and some in Texas and Missouri. I have about 22 years experience hunting deer, hogs, turkeys, and all types of small game/ varmints.

My Army buddy is graduating Columbia in December 2020. He wants to do a once in a lifetime hunt. He has a lot of firearms experience and some hunting experience. He has hunted with me a lot but has never shot anything.

We are both in excellent shape so we want the best, toughest type elk hunt, like pack the meat out, camp, etc. I have several elk capable rifles. Two .308 wins, one .30-06, and a .338 Lapua. Going to be honest, want to keep the shots within 300 yards. That's what we are comfortable with. We have a lot of gear from hiking, army, competing in PRS type comps.