Pillar bedding Ruger M77 Mark II

gmoney_2

Recently got a Ruger m77 Mark II in 30-06. All factory with wood stock. Got into guns and reloading in the last couple years and enjoy tinkering. I'm interested in pillar and glass bedding this rifle although I have zero smithing experience. I've watched lots of videos and read some articles. I've gone so far as buying the pillars and epoxy and a piloted drill bit for the pillars. Just having some second thoughts about doing this for the first time particularly with the front action screw angle on the Ruger M77. Any advice or words of caution?

This was my specialty on Rugers'.
Buy the correct kit from Brownell's, unless you are a machinist and can turn up and mill your own pillar with the 60° relief cut for the front pillar.
When I did these, I did both pillars at the same time, then once set after 48 hours, I did the entire action into the stock and also put a brass screw through the wrist of the stock and another between the magazine cutout and trigger well cutout.
I am yet to see a factory wood stock from Ruger that DIDN'T crack there.
Whether it's 77 with tang safety or a MKII, when you relieve the pressure point in fore end, the entire stock will drop about .040"-.050", this clearance needs to be filled to level the stock again. If you don't do this, it will not sit square in the stock or level and will bind the magazine box.
By levelling the action to the stock by placing electrical tape under the barrel and under the action in strategic spots, the pillars will sit just right as they cure and no binding will take place.

Cheers.