Opinions on 338 Lapua elk load

njones125

Hey guys so I have my first rifle build pretty much figured out. Using my 30-378 Weatherby Mark V action to build a 338 Lapua improved, 40deg shoulder. 1-10 twist 27 1/2" Lilja + brake. Will be my go to hunting rifle for elk, bear, mule deer. Most areas I elk hunt have potential for long range shots but I have also shot elk at 50yds in the timber. I have no experience with either the sierra game kings or Bergers, but I have always been partial to a more conventional hunting bullet. I understand I will have to give up B.C. compared to a more match grade bullet. I hope I can get a load developed that this gun likes and shoots accurately out to 800yds with either the Nos Accubonds or Barnes LRX, Here is my question: If these loads won't group well at say 500+ do any of you guys carry 2 different loads of the same grain? For example use a Barnes from 0-400 and a sierra game king for 400+ (where I think they should perform better at slower velocities.) Am I over thinking this? Would I be better off working as much as it takes to get a more conventional bullet shooting well by trying different loads? I have a Huskemaw scope and will have custom turret built for this gun, if I had it built for a Berger or Sierra would my ballistics be close enough in the -400yd range with the other mentioned bullets? Sorry for the long winded post but as you can probably tell I'm pretty excited about my first custom build and looking forward to it being done this spring and starting to play with it.

I thought about having two different bullets loaded for different ranges. After thinking on it, its pretty impractical. If you have an animal at 50-100 yards, he wont be there long and you wont have much time to get the right round in the chamber to shoot.

I use the 300 gr OTM Hybrid in my 338 Lapua. I have shot two Big Game animals with it so far. An elk at 740 yards and a Coues deer at 550 yards. No issues yet.