OAL and TTL IMPoRTANCE??

jcooper1389

im fairly new to reloading and i have a few questions

How important is the Overall Length of a fully completed round?

How important in the Trim to Length?

Can there be a .001" variation between brass?

EX> .243 should be 2.025"OAL with HDY 65gr Vmax and sometimes i mess up and seat the bullet to 2.024 or 2.023..i also shave .001" too much sometimes while trimming.

Long Question

I had 10 rounds all perfect TTL and when i seat one bullet perfect my logic tells me that i shouldnt have to adjust the seating die and just push em through but sometimes its off and the bullet is seated too far already.why is this happening?

How Precise does all the measurement have to be to keep consistency..obviously if theyre all the same itll be consistant but if i have the .001-.002 difference does that have an effect??

How important is the Overall Length of a fully completed round?

Not much, if any, if the load is well developed. There's a window of good shooting OAL that's often as much as 15 thou wide. Seat in the middle and most common variations will have no effect.

"How important in the Trim to Length?"

It isn't. All that's important is the chamber length and that is usually 20 thou or more than the max case length.

"Can there be a .001" variation between brass?"

Easily.

"EX> .243 should be 2.025"OAL with HDY 65gr Vmax and sometimes i mess up and seat the bullet to 2.024 or 2.023..i also shave .001" too much sometimes while trimming."

There is no "should be" about it, all a book OAL gives is the length the testers used to develop the listed data in their own rigs. It's no more a rule for us to blindly follow than their listed powder charges.

"I had 10 rounds all perfect TTL ..."

I've been doing this since '65 and have to guess what your definition of a TTL is.