New to the game

JaredA

Hello all
Ive been hunting for 10 years now here in Nebraska. I'm looking at getting into some long range shooting and hunting in the western part of the state. But first i need a rifle. Deer hunting mostly, but i am planning on doing some elk, and maybe bear hunting in future years. Any reccomendations for me being a begininer in the Long range game? I currently shoot a Browning 270 WSM and i have killed deer at 300-350 yards. Ive looked at the 300RUM but just seeing if there were other guns out there that might be better. Thanks! Any advice is appreciated.
Jared

Personally I would look into staying with the WSM you currently own. There are smiths out there that do accurize the Browning rifles. Matrix bullets offer some high ballistic coefficient bullets in the .277 caliber. IF you don't reload, then that is where you should start. You can really optimize the potential of the 270 WSM by tailoring ammo to your rifle. The Hornady SST and Berger 150 would also be great options in the .277 caliber.

If you would rather build a rifle, than the 300 RUM, 300 Weatherby, 300 Win Mag, would be great options. If you want a little more heft, then go with the 338 Lapua, or 338 RUM. The Lapua will give you better brass options.

Tank

Jared,

Welcome to LRH and enjoy!

I agree with Tank, there are guys here that have taken elk, IIRC at the 700-800 yard range with the 165/175 grain Matrix bullets ... I'm sure they'll chime in soon.

Again, welcome!

Ed