New to shooting long range.

noobtrooper

Ok I am new to shooting long range I have taken a few shots at around 300 yards but only because I knew my old rifle and thats around the range it was sighted in at. I do not currently have a scope but am planning to buy this Leapers UTG 3-12x44mm SWAT IE AO Mildot EZ-TAP Rain-Proof Riflescope FREE S&H SCP3-UM312AOIEW. Leapers UTG Rifle Scopes, Leapers Rifle Scopes. With a set of high rise rings to mount it on my sigm400. I have shooting solution free (its an android app) I am really clueless atm about how to even use a scope with mil dots, ive only ever used duplex style cross hairs but I want to be able to make longer shots and punch holes in paper at around 600 yards. My question is would I just use hold over with that scope? Sight it in at 100 yards and then my BC would give me the drop and wind drift correction.

75gr bthp would have a drop of 5.08mils and a drift of 1.0 so I could just use the mildots and hold 5 over and 1 mil to the left correct? (if the wind is coming from 3:00)

Also how could I use the turrents to dial corrections in? I really dont understand the mill dots with moa turrents or how that works. I'm desperate, its my primary reason for joining this forum. I've looked and looked but I cannot find alot of clear cut and dry info. I wont have my scope for a few months tho (financial problems due to a medical issue in the family) After this trouble passes and if I can learn how to shoot decently with the leapers scope Ill probably upgrade.

Noob
Relax, you've come to the right place. This forum is just full of good information and good people that will be glad to help you.