New member first post. Barrel question.

matthew lofton

Hello LRH. I've learned a lot reading threads from this forum over the years but just now became a member. Not really a true long range hunter...yet, only have self taught experience to 500yds as that's longest range to shoot at anywhere around where I live in South Florida. I have a question regarding a barrel re-bore. I put together a rem700 257wby with a 28" #5 Hart and it's intended use would be in a box blind overlooking a a peanut field where I hunt in S. GA with possible shots out to 700yds. As I'm doing more reading, I'm thinking I would have been better served with a 270wby or 7rem mag. Do any of y'all know of a place I can send this barrel to have re-bored to a 270wby, or am a stuck and have to sell it and purchase a new barrel? I've already talked to hart and they will not re-bore even tho its their barrel. Thanks in advance!

Welcome to LRH! Lots of good people to help you out. I would go with a new barrel from one of the good barrel makers. Hart is good as well as my personal favorites, Krieger, Bartlein, and Brux. A 7 mag is good just about anywhere for long range and easy to feed.......Rich

morning, I have a 257wbee in rem. 721 action, bolt face opened
to fit mag. the barrel is a hart #6 contour 28.5" HART barrel printed. match crown.
creacote in sniper gray. timmey trigger. the 257 shoots very flat.
I shoot deer, hogs and anything and everything I want to kill
with the 257wbee. OH I have 2. weatherby custom, and the rem.
110gr accu-bond and 100gr. barnes TTSX. I started using HART barrels 10yrs ago.
never had a problem. talk to Karen and her husband, every good
people. u tell them what u want, HART will satisfy. some of the
barrel makers mentioned take a year to obtain a barrel. time is precious.
shoot shoot shoot. practice and accuracy r the most important actions
in shooting. GBOT TUM