New guy with a long range question

PureTexan

I am new here and this is my first post. Just wanted to say hi to everyone. This is a great forum. Now for the question.

I am kinda new to long range hunting. My long range in the past has been out to about 450 yards. I took a nice whitetail buck last year at 450 with a .243 and that really got me going into the long range game. Now I want to expand that range out to about 700 or 800 yards.

I know I have a lot to learn and I have to get started somewhere so what would be a good starting rifle? I want to start with a factory offering first to see if I will actually stick with this long range stuff.

So what would be a good factory rifle to start out with? I have had Sendero's in the past and really like them. Only downfall is the weight. I don't want a light weight rifle but at the same time I don't want a 15 pound one either. I looked at the Remington 700 CDL SF and I really like the way the rifle is set up. I know it wont set any long range records but I think it might be a good place to start and after a while I can always re barrel it and do a complete custom job. I have always been a Remington fan. Whatever rifle I decide to get with most likely be in 7mm Mag and will be used for long rang paper punching and game up to elk.

All info will be much appreciated. Thanks

PureTexan

You see my friend, it goes something like this...

Long range hunting is alot more complicated than just which rifle to buy...

To be successful at long range hunting and not just taking pot luck shots, you need not just a rifle but a long range hunting SYSTEM.

The bare minimum system comprises of the following elements;

1. A Flat shooting rifle with excellent inherent accuracy.
2. A good quality Scope with elv and windage turrets or reticle, that always tracks reliably and repeatably.
3. Accurate, precision made ammunition usually hand loaded, using high BC projectiles.