New conundrum hunting and paper

tackleberry45

I am trying to find the best of both worlds here. I have a new 700 SPS Varmint in .308 with the 26" barrel (Remington SKU 84229). Love it, although it is currently at Remington as part of the massive recall. The goal is hunting to say 300 - 400M and punching paper to 500M or so. I am just learning so I am trying to not to have to go with two rifles one for paper and one for putting food in the freezer. Optics are all over the place from a Bushnell to a OMG expensive Schmidt and Bender. Assistance would be appreciated in where I really need to spend dollars. It only has one box of CoreLokt through it before I got the recall notice so I am not sure of the current accuracy potential (borrowed a Redfield 3 - 9 scope). I have scanned/ searched a lot of posts and this seems to be a good base rifle platform to build from. So given the above....

1. A good bedding job?
2. Blueprinting?
3. Good optic recommendation that will not create a new mortgage
4. Any suggestions welcome

-thanks!

Bedding absolutely. Every rifle should be properly bedded to stabilize vibration characteristics. Blueprinting- nah. Unless the rifle had serious flaws during manufacture, you'll spend more than you'll gain. Now a replacement trigger, on the other hand, can be an excellent investment, especially if the factory trigger doesn't adjust down to say 1.5 pounds and behave itself at that pull weight (always do the drop test and slam the bolt vigorously to check for a tendency to unintended firing). As for optics, Vortex Vipers are very good for a modest price (the HSLR line, and I prefer the FFP model). Don't forget the feed: run heavy for caliber VLDs or AMAXs to carry that energy downrange and resist the wind better. Your long barrel and some slower powder should give you good velocity from one of the more versatile "standard" cartridges.

1. A good bedding job?