New at long range shooting, what would be considered an acceptional group at 800-1000yds?

Truk505

Title pretty much sums it up. I'm new to the longe range game and was wondering what would be considered an above average size group at 800-1000yds?

Above average? Meaning better than average or larger than average? Horizontal or vertical or both combined?

When you get to long range just having the horizontal dispersion kept low is a sign of a good shooter, a solid rifle/load combo and good wind doping skills. Vertical distribution should IMHO not be bigger than 1MOA and honestly should be a good whack under that otherwise shooting at that distance may be somewhat less than satisfying to the casual shooter and positively disheartening to those on the higher end.

In reality with off the shelf guns if you're printing 1MOA at long range (so about 8.4" at 800 or about 10.5" at 1000) you're doing pretty darned well. Not spectacular but good and sufficient. Anything under that is better. With a custom rifle, I'd expect more of the hardware but not necessarily more of the shooter. One can easily negate the other.

A couple weeks ago I put a 3" group of 5 down at 800. That group was with only 1" of vertical distribution. Most of the error was in the wind holds. I was very happy with that group. My Coach then turned around and did the same thing at 900 and he was also very happy. When we bring long range groups to half-moa, we're high five-ing.

Honestly though that's not the particular paper I'd be racing for someone new to the game. Shooting at long range isn't, to me, about group size. It's about the ability to reliably engage at long range which to me means it's more helpful to be able to hit your target the first time, every time, in the vital zone. Send 1 and correct, to me, does not a skilled long range shooter make or display.

Above average? Meaning better than average or larger than average? Horizontal or vertical or both combined?