Need help with 308 neck sizing problem

jshelton2006

I am still fairly new to reloading but this makes no sense to me. Hopefully someone can help. I've been reloading 22-250 for a while now, and recently got a new 308. So i bought a Redding deluxe 3 die set for 308 (Redding #84155) because I wanted to start neck sizing also (I only FL size 22-250, haven't ordered neck die yet).

So yesterday i was out loading some 308 rounds. I FL sized some brass that i had fired out of another 308, and loaded it with no problems at all. Then i grabbed some Hornady match cases that I had just fired the night before out of my 308 which I am loading for (Savage 12 VLP). I wanted to neck size them, so I ran the neck die down to shell holder, then down another 1/4 turn or so, just so it cammed over a little when I pull the arm down, in order to size the whole neck. I sized about 30 rounds this way. Primed them, put powder in, seated the bullet, pulled it out. Checked OAL and it was a little long, so i ran the seater plug down a little and repeated. Checked OAL again and it hadn't changed. Adjusted the seater plug again, repressed, rechecked OAL, and again it was about the same. Started messing with the round and I was able to move the bullet with my fingers. I spun it then pulled it out completely with very little resistance.