Need a 40 moa base

wyatt earp

I just purchased a Bushnell 6-24x50 Elite 4200. I need a base to put it on. I read somewhere that to get this scope to 1,000 yards you have to use a 40 MOA one piece base. I have a Savage 12FV .308.

I just bought the gun at Christmas and was wondering where I get a 40 MOA base to fit my Savage. Also, I have a pair of the Burris Xtreme Tactical Rings, medium height, will they allow the scope to clear the barrel after I get the base? I assume they will since I saw a Falcon 56mm clearing a barrel with medium rings.

This may be a stupid question. I have never used a variable power scope with target turrents. Say I'm supposed to adjust 15 MOA at 600 yards. Will I adjust 15 MOA with the scope on 6x and adjust it 15 MOA with the scope on 24x, same on any magnification?

Sorry if these are dumb questions but I am new to this long range shooting.

Thanks for the help, Wyatt

I can't imagine you needing a 40MOA base to get to 1000 with that gun and scope. 20 or 25 should be plenty, one or two piece is personal preference. Magnification doesn't effect turret adjustment but it does effect the use of the MilDots.

looking at a ballistics calculator with a 175 gr. smk at 2600 fps, there is a drop of 39.8 moa, and i believe the bushnell has 50 moa of adjustment so about 25 up and 25 down, so a 20 moa base should be planty, 25 just to be safe.

TURRETS:
The scope has robust turrets with 12moa per revolution, 44moa of total travel, and the clicks were a little mushy but still positive and audible clicks. The 44moa can be a drawback if you would like to shoot past 800yds with 308win. I tested the Bushnell with an Acculock 20moa base. The scope had 16moa to the bottom, 28moa to the top, with a 100yd zero. If someone would like to get to 1k with the 6-24x Bushnell I would recommend getting a 40moa base, this way you will get the full range of the scope.