Need 4 speed

243ailoon

Is a 7MM STW fast enough or do I need something faster for hunting out west
(250 - 400 yds. Antelope, Muledeer, & Elk)
Is a 270 ACI. IMP. worthwhile investing in?

ive been using 7stw for 4 years now ,never lost an animal , shot everything from antelope to caribou , sheep , moose , deer , and elk .
i use barnes ttsx 140grs with 82grs of rl22 out of a 24inch barrel running at 3475, never had a problem , taking animals out to 600m. seems to work just fine.
soory to change the subject but someone posted a true ballistic website for all bullets, just wondering if anyone remebers it thanks.

What are you hunting?

Elephants or Kodiak Bear?

On the other hand, Iam a small fan of overkill, and don't mind carrying a cannon when there may be bears around.

But seriously, what are you hunting that requires a killer round such as this?

Texas

just what we have up here in canada , i have different rifles , but i can use this round for anything we have here ,except for the big bears then i would go up to the 30 cals , i like this round because its very flat shooting , ive thought about going to a heavier bullet for lr but so far it hasnt let me down , also i would like to comment on the barnes expansion, all the animals i ve taking at short distances the exit isnt huge but the internal damage is outstanding , the longer range kills have all opened up fine , ive never lost an animal since using barnes most never tahe more then a couple steps .

Haha I get it now...your out west is my waaaay northeast. Barnes bullets certainly kill, I just have a little benchrest in my blood and don't like their poor BCs.

I like the 7stw, I just don't have a use for it in the states.

Btw, you go go ong range with a light bullet also. Swift Sciroccos have a higher BC in their 150 bullets than most any other bullet heavier than that. If not all...

Texas.