Muzzle Brake Questions

Muddyboots

I have a 300WSM build coming up in Q12020 and looking for some input. Recoil is not really an issue for me but if it helps LRH then I would be interested in any improvement. I am 6'4" 255 so I can absorb a lot of recoil nicely. I learned the hard way shooting slugs off bench with scope of 3" relief (ouch) many years ago in upstate NY before I moved to Midwest. I learned proper bench posture real fast to save nose and eyebrows and not look like I played hockey for a living.

General: 26" total length including muzzle brake on WSM SS barrel in comparison to a straight 24" SS barrel of same configuration. Assume a brake manufactured and is installed by a competent gunsmith.

I've heard about everything on brakes but decided it would be worthwhile to get some opinions from the LRH data bank of users.

This is just a hypothetical scenario for discussion. Contour or twist irrelevant.

Muzzle Brake Questions (no order of priority):

1. Do muzzle brakes increase velocity with the extra ~2" of barrel length?

2. Do brakes reduce velocity?

3. How difficult to clean?

4. Typical round count for cleaning? (Realizing powder plays huge role, just a general question)

5. Following up to above question – do the temp stable powders that seem to increase carbon fouling impact brakes more?

6. Do ports angled forward to reduce noise impact reduce recoil reduction as well as normal placement of ports?

7. OK, this is the ugly question: Do brakes affect accuracy negatively? This answer should be fun.

8. Do you add more barrel length to increase velocity plus the muzzle brake? If I want a true 26" barrel velocity performance then I need full 26" BEFORE the brake?

9. Better to have the brake threaded for removal? (Nice for suppressor)

10. If the brake is threaded for removal, how is the crown addressed in this scenario?

11. Do adjustable brakes work as well in recoil reduction as fixed brakes?

12. What crown is the best for the brake?