Modifying a carbon fiber stock -- need advice....

cdherman

I have a Stockys carbon fiber stock for my LA Savage. Nice light stock -- but due to Savage endless changes in bottom metal, bolt release etc, I am going to need to do some mods.

I am a pretty proficient woodworker. I have sharp chisels and a couple small gouges down to 1/4" I also have a nice selection of 1/8" dremel rotary rasp, stones, files etc. I am less proficient with my dremel tool (though the tool is a joy, an M12 cordless Milwaukee that I can really recommend).

Can I use the chisels to just start taking layer after layer off? Can you "crosscut" a carbon fiber stock? Like cutting endgrain in wood? Wood works with the grain easy (though the grain can sometimes "pull" your tool into the grain, creating a flaw. Does carbon fiber do this? Or is it fairly homogenous?

I have read about using a little paint or super glue, or gel coat to seal afterwards. Not so worried about that. I have a selection of wet/dry sand paper that I might use with a little water to clean up things, but realistically, the modifications are all going to be inside the receiver channel. So who really cares what it looks like, as long as its stable.

Thanks for the advice in advance.....

I just got a stocky's carbon stock for a LA savage and had to do a little work to it. The trigger was binding. I ended up having to put a washer between the stock and bottom metal on the rear action screw and everything works great now. Before I figured out exactly what was binding I used a dremel to clear out some of the filler, not the actual carbon fiber.

Carbon will delaminate, either use the rotary file with some diamond bits or hand sand.

If you need some raw carbon fiber weave to cover up your modifications, I can help with that. You will need a good epoxy based resin and a release agent or film.

probably wear a respirator if you're gonna put a powered cutter on carbon fiber, that dust isn't any good for ya