Max EFFECTIVE Range for 243 on antelope...

LRHWAL

I have limited long range experience with any 6mm's and wondered what your thought were.

Lets say a 243 Win, bullet of your choice but please specify. I'm assuming "boiler room" hits obviously.

I'm interested to hear from those with real world experience of this. Thanks in advance.

WL

WL, I have taken antelope with a 7mm RM and 300 WSM and find them to be delicate creatures, easy to kill.

As for "max effective range", that's a subjective call for different people. My own definiton of max effective range for a bullet is the distance a bullet maintains minimum opening velocity which for many bullets is about 1800 fps. For antelope, I personaly would have no problem shooting past that distance in a 30 cal or larger bullet and pencil hol'ing them through the lungs. They wont go far and they are easy to find in the country that they live in. This is just my subjective opinion. For a 243, I would look for bullet opening. Shooting a 90 gr E-Tip at about 3200 fps should take you to 650 yds with 1800 fps @ 3000' elevation. Shooting the 95 SMK @ 3150 fps should get you to 780 yds.

JMO

107's out of my 243AI still have 1660fps velocity at a 1000 yards. I guess that would be a little better in higher elevations. So if the bullets open at that speed I would say it's going to kill a lope. Probably not the distance I would use it at.

Thanks for the replies.

I obviously realise I need to be up to it, but whilst I'm building one I just wanted to get a feeling for maximum effective range.