Match Grade Barrell break in procedures

jonboy2014

I am new to long range hunting. That being said I am curious as to what differentiates the correct procedure for breaking in a new MG barrel. I purchased a 24 in BB in 308 from a custom barrel builder. His instructions were to shoot one round and clean letting it sit in barrel for 5 to 10 mins. 100 times. I have spoken with others about this procedure and they are perplexed by this. What would be your ideas as to this procedure ?

I am new to long range hunting. That being said I am curious as to what differentiates the correct procedure for breaking in a new MG barrel. I purchased a 24 in BB in 308 from a custom barrel builder. His instructions were to shoot one round and clean letting it sit in barrel for 5 to 10 mins. 100 times. I have spoken with others about this procedure and they are perplexed by this. What would be your ideas as to this procedure ?

I am a believer in barrel break in , But 100 Rounds ? Normally the barrel will tell you when it is broke in by ease of clean up (Normally 7 to 15 rounds on a high quality barrel and any where from 15 to 30 rounds on a factory barrel) If it doesn't clean up/ break in after 20 or so rounds you are wasting your time.

Shoot and clean after each round and you can feel the improvement in the barrel.

I also recommend after the first 7 to 10 shots you can go to firing two shots and cleaning for
around 5 sets. the main thing is to let the barrel cool between shots (5+ minutes).

Brake in is a slow process and if it took 100 shots you would be at the range for about a week.

Just my opinion

J E CUSTOM

Your barrel "builder" wants too sell more barrels. You should name them so I know to avoid 'em.

Your barrel "builder" wants too sell more barrels. You should name them so I know to avoid 'em.

To the original Poster;

I really don't need to know who the barrel maker is, because I already have a great barrel maker