Leica 1600B for yardage turrets?

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by coop2564, Apr 9, 2015.


Help Support Long Range Hunting by donating:


  1. coop2564

    coop2564 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    I've ordered ballistic yardage turrets for my .270win using a 140gr Berger at 2847avg. My question is will the Leica be sufficient for range, dial and shoot using their ballistic programs out to say 600yds, or will I really need the G7 BR? Are there any other RF options that compensate for current conditions that allow range, dial and shoot?
     
  2. cohunter14

    cohunter14 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    The Leica will work, assuming you are shooting under conditions that you set the turret for. The Leica will be able to confirm that information as well. If you are shooting in different conditions that don't match the turret, the G7 might help.
     
  3. 406precision

    406precision Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    473
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Just get a moa or mil based turret a good ballistics program and away you go. The limitations of a yardage turret heavily out weigh the benefits.

    [email protected]
     
  4. coop2564

    coop2564 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    I disagree to my stated yardage. If you RF can make those quick calculations for you its range, dial and shoot, no looking at dope cards, ballistic programs, etc. so back to my RF question, is there any out there that can make those corrections besides the two stated?
     
  5. 406precision

    406precision Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    473
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    That's why there's more than one color crayon in the box we can agree to disagree. Why would dialing moa or mil be slower than yardage turrets if your rangefinder is giving you the solution?
    best of luck in your rf search the g7 is the best of its kind for an all in one solution.
     
  6. cohunter14

    cohunter14 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    The problem is that the rangefinder can give you a yardage and a shoot to distance, but if you have your turret set up for yardages at a certain elevation, temp, and barometric pressure, the shoot to yardage is only going to work when you are matching those settings.
     
  7. Russbouv

    Russbouv Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Unless you have the BR2. Doesn't matter if you have a yardage turret or not. This is the only range finder on the market today that gives you a real time calculation. It compensates for all condition. Elevation, Baro pressure, temp. ! All conditions are calculated to a shoot to range. Yardage turret or not. You program your peramiters into this range finder, it calculates the rest. Hope I explained that do you could understand. If not. Watch the YouTube videos on it and read up. It's the only RF in this league.
     
  8. pyroducksx3

    pyroducksx3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    782
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Out to 600 yards you can get away with a shoot to distance and a custom yardage turret. You can be as much as 1/2 Moa off depending on temp, alt and angle of shoot. 1/2 MOA is 3" so if that's in your comfort range of error then I guess run it. I'm with the other camp though and I run a ballistic computer and moa turrets. To make this quicker in the morning I run a set of numbers based on expected conditions and the screen shot it. I take that screen shot and set it to my lock/home screen so if time is of the essence I range can check a pretty accurate chart dial and go. I would use my cheat sheet screen to around 600 yards but after that I will take the time to input all conditions and get a firing solution.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2015
  9. JimOK

    JimOK Member

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I'm kinda new to this stuff.

    From what I understand the Leica will give you your "shoot to" yardage based on barometric pressure (elevation), temp, and angle.

    The problem with the Leica is that it also uses a predefined ballistic curve that you choose that is supposed to be "close" to your gun's ballistic curve. If that is close enough for you then it should work ok under different various conditions.

    I just use the yardage, angle, barometric pressure, and temp that the Leica gives me and input it into a ballistics app and then dial MOA on my turret. I also use other devices to verify the barometric pressure and temp and powder temp.
     
  10. cohunter14

    cohunter14 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    You are correct. The problem with the Leica is it only gives you a "shoot to" yardage if you are using one of the predefined ballistic curves. If you don't use one of the curves, you will need to do exactly what you are doing and gather all the info from the Leica in order to calculate your solution.
     
  11. mark fox

    mark fox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    br2 g7 is the only way to go. I have 2 of them and very soon they will have a updated one that will give you corrections past 1400 yards, the leica will not allow you to program an exact to your turrents. only the g7 will It will also store info for 5 other guns. that are etched etch your turrents using the gun works belistic program under g7 not g1 print out chart go shoot conferm p.o.i. zero at 100 yards. dial to 500 yards check p.o.i. dial to 800 yards check p.o.l. All can be none at 100 yards with tape measure or at actual yards. Have kenton industries do etching give them your confermed clicks at each yard 200 yards 3 clicks 300 yards 7 clicks 400 yards 12 clicks etc. have them conferm it on there program. I run the g7 program at an avrage on all settings 10 shot avrage on chronograph. average air temp of 60 deg. humity of 60% 1000 feet elevation. program the br2 to your program and when you go to a diffrent enviroment it will read the new area and give you the new corrections to dial to in yards.
     
  12. coop2564

    coop2564 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    My conflict is, the BR2 is twice the price of the Leica. The Leica can compensate for conditions as long as my bullets path is very close to a programed path??? At 600yds I would think I could match close enough to a programed path, but probably not much further. The BR2 allows you to adjust program to match your bullet for farther yardages.
     
  13. cohunter14

    cohunter14 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    I don't know if one of the programmed ballistic curves will match, but if not what you could do is just carry a cheat sheet with you that shows any changes within 600 yards. For instance, at xx barometric pressure, I have to add one click or at xx temperature, I have to subtract 2 clicks. At 600 yards, the changes in pressure and temp will have to be fairly substantial to have a big impact. You could also put angle on the sheet as well. For example, at a 10 degree angle, your shoot to distance will be .985 of the line of sight distance, etc.
     
  14. Frank7mm

    Frank7mm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Not to get off topic but how is the laser in the G7 BR 2? Is the $1600 just for the ballistics program? How does it compare to a Swarovski laser guide?