Left handed help

jwdunn

Hello, I'm brand new to this web-forum, and have really enjoyed reading the threads and opinions on long-range rifles and shooting. I particularly found the 1st time custom builds and budget builds very informative. However, being left-handed a lot of information isn't useful to me, unless I'm going to break the bank. Being a novice/newbie and on a budget, I'd like to get opinions (or even links) for a lefty's 1st budget long-range (400-800 yards) rifle build. Feel free to include stock, action, caliber, barrel, optics, etc. information. (FYI - primarily a white-tail, coyote, and target shooter.) Thanks....

Well, being a lefty your options are limited as you know. One of thing that I like about savage is they do cater to left handers and for the money, you simply cannot beat them plus they are very accurate. Give savage a serious look.

Randy

I'm in precisely the same boat as you except that I'm looking for a little more long range performance prairie dog rifle.

You didn't mention a caliber. I've been looking at .243 and found either the savage 10 predator hunter, 16 weather warrior both with accustock or the 14 american classic. Remington has the CDL or a bunch or SPS variants.

I've heard bad things about the SPS stocks and new triggers that come on the lower end Remingtons. I don't know how much of that is true.

The Savage's seem to be pretty highly regarded, but I wonder whether their stocks are throw away, too.

Here are a couple of my LH Savages.

In the front is my 300wsm Krieger barreled 116FLHSS converted to DBM. Not including optics I have less than $600 in this rifle.

In the back is my 32" fluted 338 Edge 110 long/short action siting in a Stockade Pdog Special stock. Not including optics I have less than $1000 in this rifle.

You can make a fairly complete custom rifle with a Savage for fairly cheap since you don't have to pay a smith to do the work.

S8001800.jpg