Large Rifle Primer Loads for 300 PRC

calinb

My large rifle magnum primer supply is getting very low. I tried Win large rifle primers with the published Hodgdon 175 gr. Superformance 300 PRC load and got erratic chrony results and accuracy (Win LR magnum primers worked fine). Superformance is a weird powder though. I have other brands of LR non-magnum primers too and a wide variety of other powders in my inventory.

Does anyone have any load or powder selection advice for me? I don't need to shoot full-house loads. I just need an accurate load to shoot this rifle at targets. I attended an Appleseed KD (known distance) shoot last weekend and burned up 400 LR magnum primers. I can't keep going through them like that (400 per weekend)!

I figured I'd ask here rather than waste more reloading supplies experimenting unnecessarily.

Hopefully we'll see LR magnum primers soon, but I've been hoping for them for about three years now!

First off...you shot 400 rounds of .300PRC last weekend??? Holy CRAP! I see a new barrel every month or two in your future at that rate.

.300PRC is a pretty big case to try and light off. My personal rule is:
Under 50gr powder, LRP/SRP.
50-60gr, more than like LR, but could use LRM.
Over 60gr capacity, LRM.

CCI200 are almost as hot as Fed GM215M/Fed 215. If you are using a Fed LRM, try the CCI200. It might be really close.
CCI250 are the hottest primers I have found to date. If you are using those, I don't know of a replacement.

Superformance is a ball type powder I think, and they are known to need mags to touch them off properly. You might need to swap powders if you are getting poor ES/SD from the combo.

CCI200 are almost as hot as Fed GM215M/Fed 215. If you are using a Fed LRM, try the CCI200. It might be really close.
CCI250 are the hottest primers I have found to date. If you are using those, I don't know of a replacement.

For non-mag primers, I thought the brisance from low to high was something like:

Cci
Federal and Remington