Featured issue leveling action/scope/ringcap level

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by fisherman983, Jun 13, 2018 at 9:53 AM.

  1. fisherman983

    fisherman983 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    348
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    just installed my new scope/ring combo and am having issues getting everything leveled up correctely.
    parts are 20 moa nightforce rail
    nightforce atacr 5-25x56
    Hawkins precision 34mm mediums
    the action and scope are leveled together but for the life of me, I cant get my right cap level to be level with the other 2. what are the possible problems I may have in this issue?
     
  2. gohring3006

    gohring3006 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,173
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Confirm all levels with each other.
    I bet one or two won’t jive.
     
  3. Hatrick

    Hatrick Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    If the action and scope are level, put a mark on the cap level and go shoot. It is a reference point to hold always the same.
     
    Barrelnut and gohring3006 like this.
  4. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,491
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    How do you know this? What do you mean while suggesting your scope is level to the action?

    You don't aim with a gun. You aim with a sight.
    Best you can do really is identify plumb crosshair or elevation adjustments.
    The action, stock, rings, bases, rest can be level or not. They don't matter to aim.
    With this, I feel that the best level out there is the ScopLevel. Install one, true it to your scope, and you can then move that scope across multiple guns with no concerns about level.
     
    woods, Rich Coyle and Ingwe like this.
  5. fisherman983

    fisherman983 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    348
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    I put a level in the action, then installed my rings/scope. With a level in the action and a level on top of my scope elevation cap, both levels are level and matching while the level in my rear ring cap is not level.
     
  6. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,491
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Is there some reason you really really want a 'ring cap' level?
    It cannot affect your shooting.

    Keep in mind also that a scope elevation cap does not well represent scope internal level. It's exterior to what actually matters.
    To identify plumb scope internals(crosshair or adjustments) you just point/align the scope at a plum line and set your scopelevel. That is if using crosshair holdover in the field. If dialing, you adjust elevation through full range to track along a plumb line, and set your scopelevel. You don't even need a gun for this.

    Then setup a gun as you intend to shoot it (maybe level in itself), place the level scope on it's rings, and lock it down. Load develop with the gun in this setup.
    That gun doesn't have to be level, and neither do the bases or rings. For a while I had a gun set up with a 7deg cant. I could put any of my level identified scopes on it and everything was fine.
     
  7. Rhovee

    Rhovee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    239
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Put a level in your action. Take a 4’ level and put a large cross hair on the wall. Look through your scope and level it to the mark. Then install scope level.
     
  8. fisherman983

    fisherman983 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    348
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    I thought it would he easier to buy a ser of rings with a level rather than buy a set of rings AND an external level. And cheaper as well.
     
  9. lancetkenyon

    lancetkenyon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    645
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    I do not necessarily agree with it leveling an action, the making sure reticle is plumb. If you have a canned reticle, and the scope body is not plumb to the gun, your tracking will cause L-R shift when you dial elevation. And could also cause a false plumb and bullet drop will be off at distance.

    As for ring cap levels, just get rifle and scope level. Tighten front ring cap to limit scope rotation, and when tightening rear cap, alternate screws when tightening, and do no more than 1/8 turn on each screw at a time. It might take a few tries, but should be doable.
     
    Sykes likes this.
  10. Barrelnut

    Barrelnut Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,971
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Thanks for sharing this. Never thought about issues setting up one of the levels moulded into a ring cap. I find them less intriguing now for sure.

    For me, it seems getting the dang scope level set right is the hardest part of installing a scope. No matter where it's mounted. LOL.

    All good suggestions above.
     
    Dosh and gohring3006 like this.
  11. lancetkenyon

    lancetkenyon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    645
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    The Picatinny rail mounted ones are a decent option if you have the clearance. Flatline Ops makes a really nice one. Since it attaches to the rail, more likely it will be level with the rifle.
     
  12. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,491
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    You can put levels all over a gun, and while you have not identified scope plumb, it means nothing.
    You don't aim with a rest, stock, action, base, rings, or scope caps.
     
    gohring3006 and MagnumManiac like this.
  13. dsculley

    dsculley Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    258
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Listen to Mikecr. As long as the scope is set to the same position each time (as when using a scope level and the vertical reticle is plumb to the scope level) then it doesn't matter if the action/rifle is level or canted.
     
    gohring3006 likes this.
  14. gohring3006

    gohring3006 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,173
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Set the rifle up to where you can consistently hold it. Meaning the same each time you shoulder it. Then do a tall target drill with a plum line. Once you have the scope tracking straight up, set your anticant level.
     
    Mikecr likes this.