issue leveling action/scope/ringcap level

fisherman983

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
430
just installed my new scope/ring combo and am having issues getting everything leveled up correctely.
parts are 20 moa nightforce rail
nightforce atacr 5-25x56
Hawkins precision 34mm mediums
the action and scope are leveled together but for the life of me, I cant get my right cap level to be level with the other 2. what are the possible problems I may have in this issue?
 

Mikecr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Messages
5,514
Location
NC, oceanfront
the action and scope are leveled together
How do you know this? What do you mean while suggesting your scope is level to the action?

You don't aim with a gun. You aim with a sight.
Best you can do really is identify plumb crosshair or elevation adjustments.
The action, stock, rings, bases, rest can be level or not. They don't matter to aim.
With this, I feel that the best level out there is the ScopLevel. Install one, true it to your scope, and you can then move that scope across multiple guns with no concerns about level.
 

fisherman983

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
430
How do you know this? What do you mean while suggesting your scope is level to the action?

You don't aim with a gun. You aim with a sight.
Best you can do really is identify plumb crosshair or elevation adjustments.
The action, stock, rings, bases, rest can be level or not. They don't matter to aim.
With this, I feel that the best level out there is the ScopLevel. Install one, true it to your scope, and you can then move that scope across multiple guns with no concerns about level.
I put a level in the action, then installed my rings/scope. With a level in the action and a level on top of my scope elevation cap, both levels are level and matching while the level in my rear ring cap is not level.
 

Mikecr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2003
Messages
5,514
Location
NC, oceanfront
Is there some reason you really really want a 'ring cap' level?
It cannot affect your shooting.

Keep in mind also that a scope elevation cap does not well represent scope internal level. It's exterior to what actually matters.
To identify plumb scope internals(crosshair or adjustments) you just point/align the scope at a plum line and set your scopelevel. That is if using crosshair holdover in the field. If dialing, you adjust elevation through full range to track along a plumb line, and set your scopelevel. You don't even need a gun for this.

Then setup a gun as you intend to shoot it (maybe level in itself), place the level scope on it's rings, and lock it down. Load develop with the gun in this setup.
That gun doesn't have to be level, and neither do the bases or rings. For a while I had a gun set up with a 7deg cant. I could put any of my level identified scopes on it and everything was fine.
 

Rhovee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
1,227
Put a level in your action. Take a 4’ level and put a large cross hair on the wall. Look through your scope and level it to the mark. Then install scope level.
 

fisherman983

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
430
Is there some reason you really really want a 'ring cap' level?
It cannot affect your shooting.
I thought it would he easier to buy a ser of rings with a level rather than buy a set of rings AND an external level. And cheaper as well.
 

lancetkenyon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
3,356
Location
Arizona
I do not necessarily agree with it leveling an action, the making sure reticle is plumb. If you have a canned reticle, and the scope body is not plumb to the gun, your tracking will cause L-R shift when you dial elevation. And could also cause a false plumb and bullet drop will be off at distance.

As for ring cap levels, just get rifle and scope level. Tighten front ring cap to limit scope rotation, and when tightening rear cap, alternate screws when tightening, and do no more than 1/8 turn on each screw at a time. It might take a few tries, but should be doable.
 

Barrelnut

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
4,447
Location
End of the Oregon Trail
Thanks for sharing this. Never thought about issues setting up one of the levels moulded into a ring cap. I find them less intriguing now for sure.

For me, it seems getting the dang scope level set right is the hardest part of installing a scope. No matter where it's mounted. LOL.

All good suggestions above.
 

lancetkenyon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
3,356
Location
Arizona
The Picatinny rail mounted ones are a decent option if you have the clearance. Flatline Ops makes a really nice one. Since it attaches to the rail, more likely it will be level with the rifle.
 

dsculley

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
310
Location
Orange Beach, AL
Listen to Mikecr. As long as the scope is set to the same position each time (as when using a scope level and the vertical reticle is plumb to the scope level) then it doesn't matter if the action/rifle is level or canted.
 

gohring3006

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
4,049
Location
Ohio
Set the rifle up to where you can consistently hold it. Meaning the same each time you shoulder it. Then do a tall target drill with a plum line. Once you have the scope tracking straight up, set your anticant level.
 

Primary

LRH Assistant
Here are some related products that LRH members are talking about. Clicking on a product will take you to LRH’s partner, Primary, where you can find links to LRH discussions about these products.

 
 
Top